Aruba: Our Arid Paradise

Everybody needs a break now and again–a chance to get away from that job, that place, that set of circumstances wearing you down. A chance to refuel.

For me at least, living overseas has made this need particularly pronounced. Functioning in a culture distinct from that of your homeland, coupled with being so far from family and friends, can make the stress ratchet up more quickly.

But I’m happy to report that, thanks to a week-plus in Aruba with my husband, my best bud, and her fiancé, I’m now more rested, relaxed, and (bonus!) tanned.

Even before heading to Aruba, I knew it was an “arid island,” lacking the rainforesty climate and foliage often associated with island atmosphere. I wasn’t sure how well I’d like this aesthetic after traveling to spots like Maui and Thailand.

But to say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. Ringed by cerulean waters and garnished with rocky bluffs and cacti, Aruba seemed a perfect hybrid of Hawaii-Arizona-South Texas. And it was gorgeous.

I could pen pages, attempting to convey what a excellent trip we had. But since pictures are worth dozens of words,  I’ll let my readers off easy, and save the verbiage for a future post on tips for an excellent Aruba trip.

In the meantime… enjoy!

A special thanks to mon amie for the couple’s photos taken at The Flying Fishbone, the anchor, the lighthouse, and the Caribbean rock. Oh yeah, and for traveling all that way to see us. You are, truly, the best.

Like what you’ve read? Follow my blog via email or WordPress (on the sidebar), or shoot me an email (using the footer).

Leave a Reply

